Circle of Iron – re-visited

My past post might have painted me as a bit down on the fantasy genre – which isn’t entirely true. I still have a soft spot for fantasy – high fantasy or adventure fantasy – and always will. But I don’t seek it out as much as I used to… my interests these days are of a bit more modern flavor. But I still do like fantasy – I really like urban fantasy for example.

With that in mind I’m linking back to some blog entries I wrote a while back, concerning an old story of mine, which happens to be set in the fantasy genre – at one point I had fully intended to finish it and try to get it published. But it’s been over twenty years now so I don’t see it happening.

Primarily because I’m pretty disconnected form it and my interests lie elsewhere – but also because I think it was better as something that was experienced, rather than set down on the page. Experienced because it took shape as an AD&D adventure for a group of friends. A lot of what happened in the story was based off of player interaction with scenarios and events I set up. Of course the novelization of it I planned would have streamlined some of the events, and possibly ignored others, for the narrative’s sake.

Still, I have a soft spot in my heart for this story, and for those people that helped bring it to life.

Some of the entries I link to are really long winded and talk about things that probably will only mean something to a very few. But if you like reading about dungeons and dragons and wizards and so forth, you might find reading about the characters, motivations and game highlights a bit entertaining.

So read on if you dare – hic sunt dracones

stormrolling

Just for grins I will post the table of contents for the first of what I saw as a trilogy of books. I had written the TOC out for myself, as though it was supposed to spur me on to finish it (which it probably should have, I was just to lazy to follow through) –

CIRCLE OF IRON
a story of epic fantasy
by
David J. Fielding

SKULLS OF AMBER
I. Prologue Endings and Beginnings

PART ONE: Skulls of Amber
1. Nightfall The Beginning
2. White Hall
3. Casca’s Tale: Death Stalk
4. The Horseman’s Lance
5. Beren’s Tale: The Burning of DarcRaven
6. To WhiteHall

II. Gorath’s Mill – an interlude

PART TWO: The Circle Revealed
7. The Fall of TaborSeth
8. Dengman’s Fort: The Battle for Rianav
9. Flight to Gwynmere
10. T’he Circle Joined

III. The Faceless Thane – an interlude

PART THREE: Circles within Circles
11. Gwynmere: Bellendaine’s Run
12. The Power of the Witch Queen
13. The Master of the Key
14. Arkan Meadow
15. The Book of the Light

IV. Raven – an interlude

PART FOUR: Into Evil’s Hands
16. Dark Thane’s Pursuit
17. On the Beach
18. Into MournShade
19. The Hands of the Torturer
20. The Winter King’s Ascension: The Wedding Battle

V. Adrian the Aged – an interlude

PART FIVE: The Darkening of the World
21. From Ashes of the Past
22. Dengman’s Fort: Euchrid’s Tale
23. Morfran’s Return
24. Ambush at Tyrf’s Ford
25. The Circle Broken

From the very beginning of the Circle of Iron saga, I had the following plastered on the first page of notes and scribblings – it was an inspiration then, and still is today:

THE STORYTELLER’S CREED
I BELIEVE THAT IMAGINATION IS STRONGER THAN KNOWLEDGE.
THAT MYTH IS MORE POTENT THAN HISTORY.
THAT DREAMS ARE MORE POWERFUL THAN FACTS.
THAT HOPE ALWAYS TRIUMPHS OVER EXPERIENCE.
THAT LAUGHTER IS THE ONLY CURE FOR GRIEF.
AND I BELIEVE THAT LOVE IS STRONGER THAN DEATH.

Here are the links to my previous blog entries about Circle of Iron

Circle of Iron – Part 1

Circle of Iron – Part 2

Circle- of Iron – Tova

Circle of Iron – Bellendaine

Circle of Iron – Yazmin

Circle of Iron – Dhel

 

 

Leave a Reply

