Whiskey Tango Foxtrot! What is wrong with us?

UPDATE #2 – The motive, she was mentally unstable, depressed and wanted to make her husband suffer. And once again the focus will shift from the fact that a gun was used, to the cry of it was ‘mental illness’ that killed them.

UPDATE: Both daughters were fatally killed.

Just to get it out of the way, I gave up #DietCoke this week.

I’m not saying that has any bearing on this post. But I would be remiss if I say it hasn’t contributed to my mood about this post.

So, a friend on #Facebook shared the post of one of his friends who had posted his reaction to the horrific story of a Houston mother and gun rights advocate – Christy Sheats – who turned those guns on her two daughters in the street outside of their suburban home – killing one of them and seriously wounding the other.

This is the post that was shared:

Untitled

Names blurred to protect privacy

The mother was shot dead by police because she refused to drop her gun and they feared she was going to shoot her daughter again.

I have no details about why she was arguing with her daughters, or why she thought that the solution to that problem was to gun them down with the weapon she had so vocally and proudly posted about on her social media – her right to own and use guns to “defend” herself and her family.

I’m sorry – but it’s not radical Islam this time. It wasn’t an AR-15 this time. It was a handgun. At what point do you stop claiming that your right to buy and own a weapon is about defending yourself and acknowledge that its about fear and power?

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – and will continue to say it – gun ownership isn’t about defending yourself, your home or your property.

It’s about fear and distrust of your fellow human beings… its about the certain knowledge that their lives are expendable.

I give up, I really do. I don’t understand and won’t ever understand why people continue to bring danger and death into their lives.

I’m a failure of a human being I guess. I don’t have enough manly attributes or aspects to qualify as a true blue, red-blooded ‘Murican.

I really want to turn my back on all of this, I really do. But I can’t. Hence I write things like this in my blog – which I’d rather devote to silly, trivial stuff about writing and comic books and other topics that bring me a tiny bit of joy and happiness.

Thank you internet, for reminding me how ugly and terrible things can be once again.  I sometimes shake my head when I hear people say things like “Oh man I wish I could go back” or “remember when this…” or “remember when that…” – I shake my head because I try to live in the present, to enjoy the moment I’m in not the moments that were… its not really healthy (in my mind) to live in or revere the past that much… it just generates unhappiness because, it’s impossible to go back…

But I get it, I really do. I long for the time when I didn’t give much thought to guns or weapons – when I played army with my friends, or read books like Mack Bolan The Executioner, or Doc Savage, played games like Call of Duty or Counter-Strike or watched films like Commando and The Matrix (Guns… lots of guns).

I want to retreat into those nostalgic days when the world seemed fun and enjoyable, when I didn’t want to hang my head and think the worst of my fellow man.

We’ve only been on this earth as a species for a very short time. About 200,000 years. Just before I read the ugly story about the Houston woman who gunned her daughter to death, I had watched a short video about Human Origins.

I wanted to write about that because the last few seconds are pretty spot on when it comes to us oh-so advanced humans in this modern day and age.

But all of that was wiped out by this story about Christy Sheats and also the Orlando shooting and the tsunami of uncertainty and fallout that the Brexit will create.

Yeah, today I want to retreat. I want it to be that long ago time when all I was concerned with was … nothing.

Today I want that very much. And a #DietCoke too.

Leave a Reply

